A Few Amateurish Cards

You can’t do much when you don’t have paper. Before I started investing in Stampin’ Up paper, I had a left over collection of pastel cardstock that I purchased to make baby shower invitations and just a handful of stuff that my next door neighbor Karen had given me. I couldn’t go without making a card, so here are a few that I made, which aren’t too impressive, but I’m sharing my humble beginnings as a card-maker and it’s nice to see how far I’ve come with the collection I’ve built.

This one is really simple – just some round paper cut outs, embossed on one for texture and the other with a stamp/sentiment from a set called Life’s Adventure. Nothing too special:

Life's Adventure

I sent this one to my neighbor using Bloom with Hope – I was missing her a lot, wishing she was still next door:

Bloom with Hope

I used some of the paper I got from a garage sale in this card I made for my mother-in-law’s birthday. It’s using a stamp set called Cupcake Party and a coordinating punch set called the Cupcake builder:

Cupcake Party

I made two of these for coworkers who had illness/death in their families using a set called Thoughts and Prayers

Thoughts and Prayers

These two cards were made using a stamp also from the Life’s Adventure set:

Life's Adventure

This one to welcome a new family into the neighborhood~

Life's Adventure - Welcome

This kit is not a Stampin’ Up kit, but I used Stampin’ Up Designer Series paper to choose my colors. It was made for my friend, Shanda, who really loves the color purple!

Turtle Card

This card was made using stamps from the set Polka-Dot Pieces and using the Positively Chevron Background Border stamp. The sentiment is from a retired hostess set (a set you’re only eligible for if you spend over a certain amount of money) called Banner Greetings:

Polka Dot Pieces

My friend Jessica, loves Hello Kitty. I have a box of Sanrio gift shop items that I still have from when I was living in California as an adolescent. So I rummaged through it and found some Hello Kitty notepads and cut it out to make this birthday card for her. The same banner sentiment from the set I recently mentioned. I embossed the paper using Stampin’ Up’s Chevron Textured Impressions embossing folder.

Hello Kitty

So these cards, I really consider amateurish – but hey – everyone’s gotta start somewhere, right? Thanks for sticking around until the end! 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Few Amateurish Cards

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

