Playing Catch-Up is a little Overwhelming

I’m pretty excited about getting this blog going. So I’m trying too do too much too fast and it’s giving me some heart flutters and butterflies. So, I’m really going to fly through these cards that I made. Some I made for fun, others for special occasions.

Stampin’ Up has retired all their wheel stamps. I bought some from a lady off craigslist and unmounted mine to make them flat for ease of use. That took quite a bit of patience since I had to peel the rubber off the wheels, then mount them to some clear foam. Stampin’ Up sells Clear-Mount Cling Foam sheets that you can buy to covert any stamp that you have into a clear mount stamp. To clarify, clear-mount stamps are stamps that cling to clear acrylic blocks for stamping (versus using a wood block). I used a gingham stamp that I converted from a wheel stamp for this card. The sentiment is from Label Love.

Label Love

At one point, I made it a goal for myself to make cards with every stamp set that I had purchased. My neighbor told me that she had stamp sets in her closet that had never been used. I didn’t want this to be me! I have to use everything I buy!  So I made this using a set called A Fitting Occasion for a friend who just recently got pregnant and is expecting her first baby..

A Fitting Occasion

This card was very simple and sweet. I used a stamp from a set called A Round Array, which doesn’t seems to be retired now. I stamped the same image in 5 different colors. To make the embossed lines and dots, I used Stampin’ Up’s Simply Scored Borders Scoring Plate. It just makes it so pretty! I also added some pearls to the center of the flowers to give it some extra umph.

A Round Array - Simply Scored

This cute card is another Hostess set called Nuts About You. It’s just whimsy and fun. I made it for my husband because I was bored. No special occasion required.

Nuts About You

My oldest son, Noah turned 8 this year. We’re in a new town and he’s in a new school so instead of throwing our usual house party and inviting everyone we know, he chose a few friends to come over for a game day. I made these invitations using a retired set called Make a Wish. I was so pleased with how they turned out!

Make a Wish

This next card, I used the Flower Patch set. I actually used an embossing folder as a stamp for the background.

Honeycomb Flower Patch

The next four cards were designed by my upline, Cindy Clements. We visited Kansas City in September and I just just missed one of her stamping parties, so she put together this kit for me to case the cards she created. The first one is a stamp from a set called For the Birds. The second card, from a set called Bloom with Hope.

Bloom With Hope 2

For the Birds

These two cards are made using a versatile set called Work of Art. The stamps are images of watermarks and it’s just up to you to create whatever image you want. I’ve seen lots of creative cards made with this set!

Work of Art

Work of Art 2

I’ve made two wedding cards. One for a coworker of mine and another for Stephen’s coworker. The first is just heart cut shapes. I used a white Chalk paint to draw the collars and pocket. Black ink to draw the buttons and a small ribbon to make the bow. The white heart is just embossed and accented with pearls. Nothing too complicated.

Wedding Hearts

The second wedding card for my coworker was made using a retired set called Love and Laughter. I didn’t let it dry and smeared it a little. So I took a sponge and smeared the entire image intentionally to give it a wind-blown look. Oh well – I’m sure no one is going to complain that my card isn’t perfect, right? 😉

Love and Laughter

I made this birthday card using Zoo Animals. I cased this card from Pinterest and the original can be found here.

Zoo Babies

Zoo Babies 1

This cute little guy…I feel like it’s a bug with giant eyes…but I guess you can see a frowning face too is actually made from a retired set called flower set called Pick a Petal. People really are just too creative – my neighbor actually made this one and I found a set on Ebay that I purchased because I love it so much. She stamped a few images for me to take home to make my own card.

Pick a Petal

This is the Swallowtail. Just gorgeous. I stamped the image with pigment ink and embossed it with white embossing powder. Then I sponged the image with some Rich Razzleberry ink to give it this effect. I really like sponging. I think it’s easy and creates such depth to an image. I’m posting other cards using this technique on other cards as well.

Swallowtail 1

Swallowtail

My father in law loves to golf. So for his birthday, I cased this card from Pinterest. The original card is found here.

Golf Card

For Christmas, I got a 3 month Paper Pumpkin Kit subscription for my mother in law. Since I didn’t want to send her an email to announce what her gift was, I made this matchbox using my Envelop Punch Board and stuck it in there.

Matchbox 1

Matchbox

These last two are two of my favorites. I made them early on with little experience and thought they turned out great. I again used my unmounted Gingham stamp from Stampin’ Up to create the fading background (just keep stamping without re-inking). then I stamped several hearts then punched them out and sewed them down with my sewing machine. The sentiment is from a set called Kind & Cozy.

Thinking of You - Scaled

The Post Card stamp is so timeless and you can really do so much with it. The background is stamped with a set called Postage Due. I really don’t think you can make this card and give it a vintage feel without it.

Postcard

I made this one for Stephen and his sister, Emily’s graduation. This set, called Pure Gumption is now retired and I’m really sad I didn’t get it. The great thing about this card is, you can change the colors and the embossing design for any graduate in mind…so easy to customize! I looked this set up on Ebay and they were trying to get $85 dollars for this set! Talk about price gouge. It was only about $13 if I can remember correctly!

Graduation

Last but not least, this is the card I recently made Stephen for his birthday a few weeks ago. It too is a Pinterest idea and I cased it. The original card is available here. I changed it up a bit by making it an easel card – it props up and is held up by a sentiment popped up by a Stampin’ Dimensional. This is the first time I’ve done any card-tearing. Apparently it’s a technique that used to be very popular (may still be, I don’t know!)

Shirt Easle Card

More to come! Just 4 more posts before I catch up!

One thought on “Playing Catch-Up is a little Overwhelming

  1. Pingback: Beautiful Birthday Wishes from the Flower Patch | kelly kent

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

