All Things Christmas 2014

This is the first year we’ve been away from our families. It’s a bittersweet exchange for a little more privacy and peace, but there’s always a void I know can’t be filled because we’re missing out on all the usual traditions that we’ve been so used to for the past 10 years.

I get excited when I know I want to make a card for someone. Since we’re far away this year, it means more cards to send out! I didn’t know how much time to allot myself so I started early in October. Of course, I worked on it every chance I got and was finished before the end of October and first thing in November, they were mailed out. Initially, I started out making about 60 cards in 3 designs. Realizing there were more people I wanted to mail cards to than originally planned, I made more a long the way and sent them out as I went.

This first card was the one I made most of. It’s a direct copy of the one card shown in the Stampin’ Up’s holiday catalog. I knew I wanted to make it the moment I saw it. It uses the Wonderous Wreath stamp set and Wonderful Wreath Framelit dies. The only changes I made were I added some texture to the white banner and embossed it with dots and instead of a gold “joy,” I used red. There were lots of things to stamp since this requires 2-step stamping (you stamp the light  green, then the dark green, then the red berries to complete the wreath) and lots of cutting. It was definitely more involved than any other of the Christmas cards that I made, but I definitely think it was worth it!

Wonderous Wreath

______________________________________________

I made 7 of these using the Endless Wishes set. I may have acquired a new obsession with snowflakes this year. These were really easy to make. I stamped random images from this kit on ONE sheet of white cardstock and got this idea from here. It’s called a one sheet wonder because you can make so many cards from stamping on one sheet of cardstock. I tweaked the original pinterest idea and only made two of the four designs because I could make more cards this way. I used the same Pear Pizzaz cardstock from the Wonderous Wreath card I made since I bought an entire stack. I switched up the shape of the embellishments depending on the sizes of scrap paper that I had on hand and this is the end result:

Endless Wishes - One Sheet Wonder 1

Endless Wishes - One Sheet Wonder 2

Endless Wishes - One Sheet Wonder

I used the same “one sheet wonder” idea to make these candy cane tags for the boys for school. I cut them into 2 inch strips and used my scalloped tag topper punch to cut the ends:

Candy Candy Holder

__________________________________________________

I got my inspiration for the third design from a video I saw on YouTube which can be found here. Instead of doing an easel set up on the left panel, I decided I wanted to do a slider card. I was watching so many videos and saw a lot of different techniques that I wanted to try so got a little daring and drafted up a template for this card. It’s nothing fancy, and obviously didn’t turn out exactly as planned (I underestimated the size of the christmas tree), but here is the template I came up with:

Christmas Slider Card Template

I embossed the white paper with an embossing folder by Stampin’ Up called Northern Flurry. I used Real Red and Chocolate Chip cardstock for the other colors. The tree is from a set called Fesitival of Trees. There’s also a fun coordinating punch that goes with this stamp set. I mean honestly…I’m sucked in! The sentiment is from the Endless Wishes set that I used to make the snowflake cards above. Here’s how it turned out:

Christmas Slider Card 2

Isn’t it cute?!

Christmas Slider_______________________________________________

Then I decided I wanted to do some sponging and used the Endless Wishes snowflakes again to make this card. I made a frame for my 4 1/4″ by 5 1/2″ cards and kept using it over and over. I used Pacific Point ink and used a circular motion using a sponge to achieve this look. When I was done sponging, I removed the frame and used a ruler and black marker to add my lines. Here’s how it turned out:

Endless Wishes - Sponged Frame

I wanted to make a sympathy card for a friend so I used the same frame and made this card. The tree is from a set called Thoughts and Prayers. I think the color I used was Tangerine Tango and maybe mixed in some Pumpkin Pie.

Thoughts and Prayers 2

I also sponged this card. I inked and heat embossed this image from the Seasonally Scattered set then sponged it with Rich Razzleberry and some Real red ink. I tried to use Rich Razzleberry card stock but felt the red looked better:

Seasonally Scattered

_________________________________________________

My mother-in-law came to visit in October and wanted to make a christmas card, so we cased this one from Pinterest. The  original is here. It uses the Festival of Trees set and Stampin’ Up designer series paper.

Festival of Trees

__________________________________________________

This next card is from a kit called Holiday Home. I have to admit, this was not a set I wanted to buy. But I got sucked in when I watched Darlene Devries’ video here and saw other ideas on pinterest. It comes with matching framelits that cut out the homes you see.

Holiday Home

___________________________________________

This one is from a stamp set called White Christmas. I stamped the images, and sponged the card with Pool Party. Then I used a little brush and dotted the flurries with Versamark ink (I’ve purchased a Versamarker pen since) and heat embossed with some pearl embossing powder to give it some sheen.

White Christmas

_______________________________________________

This card is cased from this blog and the original can be found here. This set is called Ornamental Pine. I used Bermuda Bay instead of the color used in the original card. I stamped the pines with Garden Green ink and the pine cones using Chocolate Chip ink. I went over the pine branches with a Chocolate Chip marker. Then using the speckled stamp from the Gorgeous Grunge set, I stamped the image with Versamark ink and then heat embossed it with white embossing powder to make the snow effect. The same pine/pine cone image is imitated on the inside of the card.

Ornamental Pine

_______________________________________________________

I made a few of these cards and gave them to the kids’ teachers this year. It uses Festival of trees and the Northern Flurry embossing folder that I used previously. I stamped the images on white cardstock and then I embossed Sahara Sand cardstock and cut the hole out using a 2 1/2″ punch. I used some Stampin’ Dimensionals to prop the paper up a bit – gives it a nice touch.

Festival of Trees and Northern Flurry________________________________________________

I think I’m done making christmas cards now. Phew! I made four of these cards so Stephen could give them to a few people at work. It uses a classic set called Lovely As A Tree and is available in the annual catalog. The base cardstock is Sahara Sand. I started with white cardstock and stamped the bordering trees in Soft Suede. Then I stamped the large tree using Garden Green. I went over the trunk of the tree with a brown marker. Using a stamp-a-ma-jig, I then inked over the image of the large tree with Versamark ink and heat embossed it with clear embossing powder. Makes the tree shine! I think sponged the sky with Soft Sky and the ground with Crumb Cake. Then made the snow using the same technique I used in the Ornamental Pine card that I made above. This card is so pretty and took a little more time than I had hoped, but I’m really happy with how it turned out!

Lovely as a Tree 1 Lovely as a Tree

Tis’ the season to give! I hope everyone has enjoyed receiving these cards. I’ve been keeping busy with them all and have enjoyed making them so much!  Happy Holidays, everyone! Thanks again for all your support. If you’re interested in making your own Christmas cards next year, let me know and I’d be happy to help you place an order. This year’s holiday catalog ends on January 5th, but you can always look forward to the new holiday catalog next October!

One thought on “All Things Christmas 2014

  1. As much as I love seeing your creativity displayed, it just makes me want to do it more. Now that the holidays are over, I am planning time (actually planning time in my planner) to be creative. I want it all. 🙂

    Like

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

