Establishment Sign, Paper Wreath, Coasters, Paper Bird House (Miscellaneous Crafts)

My sister, Gwen, started a new business this past summer and has been doing really well. As a gift, I made this establishment sign for her. I start the design freehand using a pencil and once I’m happy with how it looks, I go over it with a ball point pen. That’s all. And it really doesn’t take too long to do – but it looks beautiful when it’s done and it makes me happy that it’s displayed in her shop.

Establishment SignEstablishment Sign 1

____________________________________________

I cut two layers of cardboard to roughly the same size (I used my boys’ trash Lego box). I glued them together and wrapped a green ribbon all around. Then I made paper flowers using my fringe scissors and flower punches. Since I was only fooling around, I didn’t use my Stampin’ Up paper for this project. I just tested it using my left over pastel cardstock, but it turned out well!

Paper Flower Wreath

 I saw a video by another Stampin’ Up demonstrator and learned this neat project from Brandy Cox. The original tutorial is here. I followed the same technique here but I’ve seen it done many other ways. The sentiment and image is inked using Staz-On Ink. I used the I Like You stamp set and made this set of coasters for my neighbor as an Xmas gift this year. Once stamped, I used Stampin’ Up’s Chalk Pastels colors to color in my images. I’ve seen this done with regular ink/blender pens as well as Stampin’ Up’s new blendability markers. I love that you can use lots of techniques for this project. After coloring with my chalks, I went over it with a matching permanent marker – you can really see the effect once the project is finished. It looks a little dull until you seal it (either using tile sealant or crystal effects). I used crystal effects – it’s a clear lacquer that gives projects a shinny sheen. In this project, it acts as a waterproof barrier for you image/sentiment.

I Like You Tile Coasters

___________________________________________________

This cute little birdhouse is one I made following Pootles Papercraft. The video tutorial is here.

Dimensions:

Start with a 8 1/4″ by 6″ cardstock in Crumb Cake to make the house. Score on the LONG side (paper is horizontal on scoring plate) at 2″, 4″, 6″, 8″ and score on the SHORT side at 2, 4, 5 1/2″.

The roof uses a 2 1/4 x 4 5/8″ piece of cardstock in the same color, scored at  2 1/4″, 2 3/8″.

I intended to hang this on my Christmas tree this year as an ornament, but seeing is how it’s hasn’t left my craft room, it may never make it to my Christmas tree.

Bird house

Hope you enjoyed the post! As I start posting newer projects and cards, I’ll try to post more detailed directions so you can make your own, if you want!

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

