Owls!

I follow a blog by fellow crafter, Darlene DeVries. Her website is here.  I’ve learned a lot about inks and tools and have seen a lot of her videos. Darlene uses a lot of tools, inks and stamps that are not all products made by Stampin’ Up, but I love watching her videos just to learn new things and see what’s available. Since I’m currently a Stampin’ Up demonstrator, I’m trying to steer away from buying collections of other inks, markers or stamps. When I make my own cards, I use what I can to achieve the same affect as Darlene so I feel I don’t have to venture out any buy more than I already have. She’s very talented and it’s so cool to learn from her. She loves the Owl Builder Punch and so do I! The next 3 cards are all cased from Darlene’s website. She has a video tutorial for each of her cards and they are very easy to follow!

This is an owl window card. The center of the card is cut out, leaving the desired sized frame in place –  I think it’s 3/4″ (Darlene provides the exact measurements here). I punched scallop circles and sponged the edges to give them some color. I didn’t have a woodgrain stamp, so I actually hand-drew all the markings on the card and branch. The branch is free-styled so you just make it however you want it. Once all the owl pieces are punched out, all that’s left the is the tedious task of putting the owls together with adhesive. Darlene has a cool party hat stamp that she uses. I just found a party hat from one of Stampin’ Up’s sets (I think I used the party hat from a set called A Fitting Occasion). For owls, I really think two-way glue is best. Tombow seems to be too runny and more difficult to control it’s flow for such small pieces and it’s almost impossible to get double sided tape to fit small enough on these pieces to get them to not gum up.

Owl Builder Window Card

Stampin’ Up makes flip card dies that pre-cut card stock for you (like this one here), leaving it quick and easy. But I didn’t have one of those, so I tried the technique provided by Darlene using a framelit die. You can see her original post here. I may have “messed” up a little when trying to follow her tutorial and picked the wrong size framelit die but I think it worked out pretty well. I love the way it opens up to reveal a second owl!

Owl Flip CardOwl Flip Card 1

This third and final card is my absolute favorite! I made this card for my sister, Gwen for her birthday and could hardly wait to send it to her.  This is called a shutter card and Darlene’s tutorial can be found here. Please check out her video for the exact dimensions and instructions. They are very easy to follow. Again, just lots of scoring and cutting to make the card base…and lots of gluing for the owls. But look how adorable this card is! It’s totally worth!

Owl Shutter CardOwl Shutter Card 1

This Owl Builder Punch is so versatile – I’ve seen so many pinterest ideas to use it for making many different characters/animals. If you’d like to order one, please let me know!

3 thoughts on “Owls!

    • Thanks so much, Darlene! I still have so much to learn. Wish I were as creative as you! I’m surprised you came across my new blog! It’s an honor!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Dan! | Craftin' Caly

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

