Mini Treat Bag/ Alternative Card Holder

Stampin’ Up has a new item called the Mini Treat Bag Thinlits Dies and it is sooo cute. It’s a die that creates a mini treat bag along with other extra dies – like a heart, a star, some fun words, banner, etc. I have so many dies already and don’t want to duplicate my supply so I thought of a way to create my own mini treat bag without spending $39.95 on this thinlits die set. I feel kind of guilty about it – but at the same time, I can customize for any project size this way.

I got pretty clever over my lunch break today and drew out a template. The mini treat bag I created will hold a standard A2 card (4.25″ x 5.5″)! What a fun way to give a card without an envelop! Or a cookie…or candy 🙂

Start with a piece of cardstock in whatever design you’d like. Trim the cardstock to 6.5″ x 9.5″. The the “long” side set horizontally on your scoring tool, score at 2.5″ and at 7″. Flip your paper to the “short” side (paper is set vertically now) and score at 0.5″ from the 2.5″ score line  to the 7″ scoreline made in the previous step (you can score through the entire thing but I don’t like unnecessary score marks on the finish project). Score again all the way through at 6.25″.  At this point, you should have a total of 4 score lines, two going each direction.

IMG_0104

Here’s my template. You want to cut out the gray areas.

Mini Treat Bag Template

What you end up with, is something like this:

IMG_0105

Fold your 3 remaining score lines back, add adhesive to the bottom flap and to one of the side panels and you’ve got your assembled treat bag! I added a little extra by cutting a zig-zag design at the top with a pair of decorative scissors.

IMG_0106

IMG_0107

Here’s me putting a card in it….

IMG_0109

IMG_0111

You can add ribbons and sentiments, whatever you’d like. I used a die to cut out a heart and added a window sheet to this one (for a cookie or candy).

IMG_0112

I hope you enjoyed this tutorial!!!  I had lots of fun making it!

3 thoughts on “Mini Treat Bag/ Alternative Card Holder

  1. Hey Renee…thanks for your encouragement and for sharing your story about your mom. It is amazing how much the body, soul, and mind are all interrelated and all of it is important to God. Good luck with your bu3h2ess&#8ns0;wiat a wonderful job to be able to help people!

    Like

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

