Classroom Valentine’s Day Cards

I know I said that I didn’t want to spend too much time making classroom Valentine’s Day cards this year, but I sat there thinking between my moments of distraction while working this week, that I could really simplify the process by using designer series paper (dsp) and limit my stamping and eliminate any coloring that would’ve been required with the initial set I wanted to buy/use for this process. I have a whole pack of the Stacked with Love dsp that I used in my previous card that may not get used again any time soon, so I decided I would make the kids’ Valentine’s Day cards with them.

I started by cutting out the card base – using one full 8.5×11 sheet and cutting into 8 equal pieces. I made 48 cards – enough for all the students in Noah and Evan’s classes. Then, I tore out one piece of each design from the Stacked with Love paper stack and randomly cut them into 1 inch strips.

Classroom Vday Cards

Then I used a 1″ square punch to punch out the corners to make them banners.

Classroom Vday Cards 1

I selected 3 stamps from the You Plus Me stamp set and one from a retired hostess set called Hello Love and stamped 4 different designs. Ahh!  SOOO cute!

Vday cards Collage

Classroom Vday Cards 2

In random fashion, I started putting banners together on cards. Each card ended up having 2 banners (some three to use up what was left).

Classroom Vday Cards 3

I could’ve stopped here, but then I decided I need to fill in the white space. I like to over-complicate things in this manner…

I selected 3 other stamps from the You Plus Me set and started stamping them randomly in dead spaces of each card. So much for limiting my stamping time, huh? Here is the final project!

Classroom Vday Cards 4

It hurts only a little thinking these are going in the trash after the holiday in 2 weeks. *sigh*

Did you think I’d stop here? Nope. I didn’t….

I had to add the to/from stamps on the back. But then I thought – “I bet my boys don’t want to write their names 24 times on these cards.” So I pulled out my Alphabet Rotary Stamp and also stamped their names. Here’s what the back of the cards look like with their names:

Classroom Vday Cards 5

I LOVE how this looks!

How did I find time for all this? Well…I cut the initial cardbase over a work break, then cut the dsp strips over a lunch break, then punched out the banners after work. After picking up Liam from daycare yesterday, I threw the banners on the cards. You see, I can only work quickly in 10-15 minute increments sometimes – but I try to be as efficient as possible. Then that night in front of the TV before bed, I adhered all the banners to the cards. This morning after I had completed my 4 hours of overtime and Liam was being a little angel, I got the chance to stamp the fillers. I left those to dry while I went to the store to pick up a birthday present for a birthday party the boys were going to today and with the 15 minutes I had left before we had to leave the house…I finished the backside of the cards. TOO much information? Maybe. But I guess the point I’m trying to get across is – you make time for the things that make you happy in life. This makes me happy. 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this! It was completely worth it to me – to imagine this and to make it happen. If you’re interested in any of the products on my site or via Stampin’ Up!, please let me know and I can help you place and order. If you decide to place your own order, I’d really appreciate it if you’d select me as your demonstrator! Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day, everyone!

Colors Used: Basic Black, Calypso Coral, Real Read, Pacific Point (Noah and Evan’s names)

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

