Happy Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s Day is over and now I get the opportunity to post a few cards and projects that have kept me busy the past week and a half. It’s so hard to refrain from posting when I’ve been so excited.

I want to start by saying that I have the most supportive, empathetic, sweet and patient husband, EVER – for me. Everyone claims they have the “best” husband but everyone has different needs. So I don’t want to say that my husband is better than anyone else’s – just that Stephen has been and IS my true companion in life. He’s been taking Liam to daycare this month, which allows me to work an extra 45 minutes every morning. I can’t expect anyone to have any idea how helpful that has been – but it’s made a tremendous difference in my day and how much overtime I can accomplish during the week – it add’s up! And during a few extra hours when he happens to get home early, he’s thoughtful enough to do build me things for my craft room!

I told him my handmade magazine holders were just fine, but he kept planning to make me this and I LOVE it! You can see how my paper was stored before to the right when he had only completed one paper tower. I butted up my punch holder to it and it is perfect.

paper tower 1

Here’s the finished set up (minus a few shelf boards):

paper tower 2

My upline, Cindy, told me to not store this units anywhere in direct sunlight because the paper color may fade, so one night, Stephen helped me rearrange my entire office/craft room.

ink storage

I got these basket-like magazine holders from the dollar section at Target and I think they separate everything nicely. My old gray rotary cutter is at the bottom. On top of that, a paper trimmer I got from Christmas (from my husband, of course).

accessories shelf

Alright! Now – to share my two latest Valentine’s Day cards! The video tutorial can be found here. Dawn makes a template out of window sheets, but I made mine out heavy cardstock that I had on hand. She also used Stampin’ Up! white craft ink. I opted to go with StazOn white ink. I’m not sure why – but it works. I have to admit, I just didn’t pay enough attention to the details when I watched her video. Mine is not nearly as great as Dawn’s but it still turned out well. Here is the first card I made for my friend, Karen.

You Plus Me KH VD2

You Plus Me KH VD

You Plus Me KH VD5You Plus Me KH VD4

You Plus Me KH VD3

I started with a piece of white cardstock and sponged it with Pool Party ink in a x-like form. I took a picture of while doing a second card for my husband – here’s what I mean:

sponge

Then I sponged the rest in the main color. On this card, it’s Perfect Plum, which is also the color of the card base. I used heart framelits to cut out hearts in random places on a piece of heavy card stock in random places (3 to be exact) and started sponging the hearts in random places, at first more transparent and than more opaque to get the “bokeh” effect – like filters on a camera.

On the card I made for my husband, I used Tangelo Twist and Real Red. The sentiments are from the You Plus Me stamp set.

You Plus Me SP VD3You Plus Me SP VD2

You Plus Me SP VD

I’ve been working so much – my husband has not gotten a chance to get in my craft room to make a card for me. While I was working yesterday, he came in and made a card behind me while I was working my overtime. I think he did a great job! He used a stamp from the Painted Petals stamp set to create the dotted background and used some framelits to cut out the hearts. Isn’t he the sweetest?

20150214_112636

Here’s a card I got from Karen. It’s sweet card made using the banner punch:

20150214_192944

and a box card I got from my friend Jessica with a packet of hot cocoa:

20150214_192749

and some treats we got from my mother in law – made using the January Paper Pumpkin Kit. I got her a 3-month subscription for Christmas. I think they are such great gifts! Check out the website if you’re interested in these pre-packaged sets. It’s everything you need in a box for a cute monthly project if you don’t have time or money to invest in all of Stampin’ Up!’s products. Sometimes, it’s cards, sometimes its treat bags like these:

20150214_193845

If you ever want any of these products and need help, please let me know! I hope you enjoyed this post.

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

