Baby Girl Dresser Step Card

Hi Everyone! I tried something new today when I decided to make a baby card for our friends, Jimmy and Thai, who welcomed their first baby this week. I’ve been wanting to make a step card, and this is the perfect occasion for it! It’s a lot easier than i thought. I saw some ideas on Pinterest which ultimately led me to a video on YouTube. You can find it here. I made a few tweaks and you can change it up as you like. Here is my version of the card:

Step Dresser Baby6

I began with a piece of white card stock trimmed to 5.5″ x 8.5″. These directions might be confusing to read so be sure to check out the video so you can see what’s happening. Next, cut down the center of the card base on the “long” side – the card should stop at the 2.75″ mark on your trimmer – from 1″ to 5.25″. Don’t cut all the way through!!!

Once you’re done cutting, you’ll want turn your card stock clockwise and two score the right side of the previously cut line at 1″ and 2″. Here’s a diagram I created to help you visualize what I’m trying to say (click on the image to see a clearer/larger version):

Side Step Card

Make a mountain fold with the first score line at 1″, and a valley fold at the second score line at 2″. Once these folds are in place, you want to fold the entire thing in half while keeping those step folds in place. This will create your card base.

I used a label punch to punch the dresser side to give it the look of dresser legs and a border punch on the right side. Then I sponged on the sides and edges with Pink Pirouette.

Step Dresser Baby

Step Dresser Baby1

Here is what the card looks like once it’s folded:

Step Dresser Baby5

To make the dresser drawers, cut out three pieces of card stock to 0.75″ x 2.25″ pieces. Sponge the edges of these as well. On the top drawer, I added a small piece of Venetian Crochet Trim to make it look like a small piece of clothing is hanging out of the drawer.

Step Dresser Baby4

I used a piercing tool to mark the centers of each piece and added Pink Pirouette Candy Dots to create knobs.

Step Dresser Baby5

The greetings and image is from the Bundled Baby stamp set. I did some coloring with Stampin’ Up’s Blendabilities markers and used the Word Window Punch and the Modern Label Punch on the embellishment/greeting.

Step Dresser Baby8

The booties and duck are from other stamp sets that I have – you can use anything you have to dress up the card. On the inside, I cut a piece of Blushing Bride card stock to 2.5″ x  4.5″ and layered it with a white piece cut to 2.25″ x 4.25″. I sponged the white piece with pink pirouette ink as well to carry over the effect from the front of the card.

Step Dresser Baby7

Trim your greeting if it can be seen when you close your card (you’ll have less space if you punch out too much space for the legs of the dresser).

Step Dresser Baby6

All done!! I LOVED making this card! Hope you liked it!  Please leave a comment if you have any questions! I really have plans to start making video tutorials one of these days if I’m ever brave enough!

2 thoughts on “Baby Girl Dresser Step Card

  1. Pingback: Baby Boy Dresser Step Card | Craftin' Caly

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

