Big On You Chalkboard Birthday Card

Today’s card is really simple. I wanted to play with chalkboard effects and this was really easy to do. The stamp set is called Big On You and offers four large stamps that say it all in a BIG way: “So Very Kind of You,” “It’s Your Day,” “I Do Love You” and “I Think You’re Pretty Swell.” I used the “It’s Your Day” stamp to create a birthday card for my sister-in-law.

Using Basic Black card stock (cut to 4″ x 5 1/4″), I sponged all around with Whisper White craft ink – it’s a permanent pigment ink that you can also emboss with. After sponging, I used a paper towel to smear the ink – this also causes it to dry quickly so you can move onto the next step. I used an embossing buddy to make sure the unwanted embossing powder doesn’t stick to anything else and inked the sentiment using the same craft ink. I used white embossing powder and heat embossed it.

Big on You

I used a chalkboard marker and drew some candles and a balloon. Not necessary, but I couldn’t help myself.

Big on You 2

I layered this piece on some Primrose Petals (retired color) card stock (cut to 4 1/4″ x 5″) and mounted it on a Whisper White card base. That’s it! So simple.

Big on You 3

Happy Birthday, Miss Anna!

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

