Butterfly Thinlit on Vellum

The Blendabilities markers have been discontinued by Stampin’ Up! due to some quality manufacturing issues and it has been a disappointment for a lot of people. The markers are so versatile and you can do so many projects with them. I have no doubt that Stampin’ Up! will find an alternative for these popular markers in the future. I also have to remember that Stampin’ Up’s stampin’ write markers can be used to achieve the same effects with different techniques.

I played with my Blendabilities markers last night and made a quick card using vellum and the largest butterfly thinlit from the Butterflies Thinlits set (sorry, I can’t find the link for it!). I cut a piece of vellum to 4″ x 5 1/4″, cut out the butterfly image on Basic Black Card stock, and used Tombow Liquid Multipurpose Glue to carefully adhere the butterfly to the vellum.  Once dry, I colored the back side of the vellum (if you put the project over some white/light colored paper, you can see easily through the vellum where you are coloring) with an assortment of Blendabilities markers. It’ so quick and easy! My oldest son watched me do this in less than 5 minutes.

This is what it looks like from the front side:

Butterfly Thinlits on Vellum

The colors are super vibrant!

Butterfly Thinlits on Vellum 4

You have to mount this image on white card stock/base because any other color will change the effect of the colors. I decided to matte my final project on Whisper White card base.

Butterfly Thinlits on Vellum 3

Such a clean look. I didn’t add any sentiments, but can when I’m ready to use the card.

Butterfly Thinlits on Vellum 2

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

