Coloring with the Blender Pen and Aqua Painter

I’m back today for a coloring comparison between the Blendabilities markers, blender pen, and aqua painter. As some of you know, Stampin’ Up! has discontinued their Blendabilities markers due to unacceptable manufacturing issues. You have to appreciate a company that cares about the quality of their products. We are all very sad about it, but know that Stampin’ Up! will come out with something in the near future to rectify this issue. The Blendabilities were soooo popular. When I started this hobby in August of 2014, I was completely overwhelmed by all the choices. As a beginner, I purchased the complete line of Stampin’ Write Markers and thought that was all I’d need. But as I tried my first few Blendabilities sets, I was hooked and it was ALL I used for coloring.  I’m glad that I invested in the entire set with the exception of the skin set before they got discontinued. Anyway – I’m grateful that there are other ways to color as well and today, I posted a video on a comparison and the technique of coloring with the alternatives – the blender pen and the aqua painter.

Coloring

Unlike with Blendabilities markers, you’ll want to use watercolor paper with the blender pen and aqua painter. You also have to use Stazon permanent ink. If you don’t use a permanent ink to stamp your images, the image will bleed while you color. You want to keep a crisp image as you color. My samples are colored using the Blended Bloom stamp and Bermuda Bay ink.

Here is the original card I made using Blendabilities:

Coloring-Blendabilities

The Blender Pen:

Coloring - Blender Pen

The Aqua Painter:

Coloring - Aqua Painter

Side by side comparison with Blendabilities on the left:

Coloring - Blendabilities vs Blender Pen

blender pen

Coloring - Blendabilities vs Aqua Painter

aqua painter

There are definitely differences – and it’s all about the look you’re going for (and how hard you want to work to achieve the look you’re after). Personally, I prefer the blender pen over the aqua painter – it’s much easier to control; to add color and to blend). I almost would prefer a paint brush and a cup of water over the aqua painter for this reason (you can’t control the amt of water that is released while coloring). This is my true and unbiased opinion. Regardless of my opinion – I think they are both FUN ways to color and you can do a lot of neat things with either technique. I hope this was helpful for people who hate that Blendabilities markers are no longer available but want to color with other options. You can definitely make your project look beautiful no matter the technique you choose!

Here’s my video, enjoy!

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

