Distress Watercolor Over Embossed Canvas

Hi Everyone!

I made a birthday card for my nephew – and I seem to have trouble making cards that are more masculine. I lean towards using light colors – which typically make my cards look more feminine. I’ve used a lot of different advice from people in this video on how to make cards more masculine (Carissa Wiley), how to store embossing powder (Jennifer McGuire), and how to use a laminated white piece of cardstock to help you see the color you’re picking up with a brush when you do watercolor with distress ink (Kristina Werner) – these ladies are all brilliant! You’ll have to see my video to see what I’m talking about – or you can check out their videos on YouTube :).

Distress Watercolor Canvas 2

I like that the embossed canvas gives this card a lot of texture. I haven’t used distress inks in a while so I thought I would use them as well for this card.

Distress Watercolor Canvas

Here’s my video – I hope you like it. Sorry if I sound tired (it’s pretty late here and I’ve had a rough couple of days with my youngest having a fever that won’t seem to let up).

SUPPLIES:

Distress ink colors: Fired Brick, Faded Jeans, Peacock Feathers

Not Listed: Stacked With Love Designer Series Paper (Retired Stampin’ Up! Product)


Versamark Ink

Versamark Ink


Basic Black Cardstock

Basic Black Cardstock


Night of Navy Cardstock
Night of Navy Cardstock

Recollections 110 lb

Recollections 110 lb


Canson XL Watercolor Paper Pad

Canson XL Watercolor Paper Pad


Big Shot
Big Shot

Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform

Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Standard Cutting Pads

SU Hello You Thinlits Dies
SU Hello You Thinlits Dies

LF Stitched Borders

LF Stitched Borders


Simply Simmons Round Brush

Simply Simmons Round Brush


White Embossing Powder
White Embossing Powder

ATG Gun
ATG Gun

Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue

Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue


3M Scotch Double-Sided Permanent Foam Tape
3M Scotch Double-Sided Permanent Foam Tape

Crazy About You
Crazy About You

HA Canvas BG

HA Canvas BG

One thought on “Distress Watercolor Over Embossed Canvas

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

