Crafting with Rachel

Hi Everyone!

Sorry I haven’t had anytime to share anything lately. We’ve been busy packing and cleaning and my in-laws were in town the past two weekends. We’ve also been selling  a lot of furniture to decrease the labor for the move – mostly to a sweet lady that used to watch my son Liam at the daycare and her daughter. Diane’s granddaughter, Rachel, is only 9 and took a keen interest in my blog and videos. I hear that she spends hours watching my videos and is wanting to stamp. She is so very sweet and I love that she is so interested in crafting.

Diane and I set up a time this week for Rachel to come over before I finished packing up my crafting supplies to make a few cards. I first want to share with you a few cards that Diane shared with me that Rachel made from watching my videos:

The first card she cased is from my Chance of Rain Post – Here Rain or Shine, which you can see here.

IMG_1110 Chance of Rain 2

Isn’t that cute??? I was soooo impressed!

The second card she cased is from my Happy Pandas post, which you can see here.

20150730_222019Happy Pandas 1

I feel like I cheated because I used stamps and dies to make my cards and she didn’t! She’s so crazy talented for a girl her age – and I seriously wish I had been introduced to this art when I was 9! Apparently, she has made more than just the two I’ve shared here.

Before she came over, I decided to make a quick card for her using an alphabet balloon stamp set and dies that I got from Mama Elephant – I’ll add links below. I used some copics to color the animal from the Tandem Extras set (also by Mama Elephant). It’s nothing fancy (most of my things are already packed away)…but here’s the card I made to thank her for spending time with me and encouraging her to stay crafty:

Rachel 2

We had such a great time making cards together. Since she had seen so many of my videos – she was already familiar with some of the products and techniques (tehehe…). I had picked out a bunch of stamp sets I thought she might like to use, but she ended up choosing her own – which really surprised me (in a good way)!

On the first card she made, we used some zig clean color markers to create a background and embossed the sentiments in black. She chose the colors for the background – I have to admit – I would not likely put these colors together but I think it turned out great and I need to be more like Rachel!

Rachel 1

For the second card, she wanted to use the One with Nature stamp set to create the card I made in this post. Rachel’s card is on the left. Again, she chose all the colors.

20150729_173432One With Nature 1

Rachel’s got amazing talent at her age and I hope she continues to explore it! I’m so proud of her and am very glad I was able to do this with her. I feel like I’m a nobody, but it makes me happy that I’ve touched this little girl.

We are wrapping up our packing and will be leaving Ohio in exactly a week. We found a house in Kansas City but are working to get our home in Ohio sold. Please continue to send prayers and good thoughts our way – I really appreciate them!

Here’s my craftroom all packed up. Bitter sweet – but I plan on shopping at IKEA when we get back to KC for some great storage units for my new craftroom! I hope to get set up as soon as possible so that I can start crafting and sharing again!

20150729_212522

SUPPLIES MENTIONED:

ME Chance of Rain
ME Chance of Rain

EH | SSS |ME

MFT Happy Pandas
MFT Happy Pandas

EH | SSS | MFT

ME Balloon Letters
ME Balloon Letters

EH | SSS |ME

ME Balloon Letters
ME Balloon Letters

EH | SSS | ME

Zig Clean Color Real Brush
Zig Clean Color Real Brush

EH | SSS | AMZN

HA Stamp And Cuts - Thanks
HA Stamp And Cuts – Thanks

EH | SSS


SSS One With Nature
SSS One With Nature
2 thoughts on “Crafting with Rachel

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

