My 2015 Holiday Card

Happy Thanksgiving week, Everyone!

I always try to get my holiday cards out every year before Thanksgiving. Each year, I try to send a photo in some way. Since I only started crafting last fall, this is my second year making my own holiday cards. Last year, I inserted a photo with the card. This year, I made the photo a part of the card. This card is inspired by the card Jennifer McGuire made last year. The idea is the same, but the personal touches are different

Xmas Card 2015 3

I made 75 of these. I started off by cutting all the velum and cardstock to 4.25″ x 5.5″. My sister in law took our photo for us (bethanywearsphotography.com) and I printed them at Walmart.com and had them shipped to my house – nothing too fancy.  I used Simon Says Stamp’s Stitched Rectangle dies to cut out each photo (that was crazy of me). Then I ran all the red cardstock through my printer to add a personal message on the inside. Once this was done, the stamping began.

Xmas Card 2015 7

The MISTI was really helpful for this assembly line – it helped me stamp everything in the exact same place for each card and I highly recommend this tool if you don’t have it already. I did all the stamping for this gold sentiment and embossed all 75 pieces of vellum first, then I worked on the light string at the top.

Xmas Card 2015 6

I alternated between using red embossing powder and stickles for the lights.  Again, I embossed all 75, then add stickles and let them dry.

Xmas Card 2015 4

Once the vellum pieces were done, it was time to put my cards together. I sewed the card together using my sewing machine. A paper clamp is handy if you’re afraid of not lining the cards up perfectly before running it through the sewing machine.

Xmas Card 2015 1

I’m so glad I got them all done and in the mailbox this week. If you’d like to see the process, please watch my video and/or check out Jennifer McGuire’s video here.

SUPPLIES:

ME Jingle Greetings
ME Jingle Greetings

EH | SSS |ME

HA Sparkle Borders
HA Sparkle Borders

EH | SSS | HA

Versamark Ink
Versamark Ink

EH | SSS | AMZN


VersaMarker
VersaMarker

Heat Tool
Heat Tool

Clear Embossing Powder
Clear Embossing Powder

WOW Primary Apple Red Superfine
WOW Primary Apple Red Superfine
WOW Metallic Gold Sparkle
WOW Metallic Gold Sparkle

SSS | EH


SSS Stitched Rectangles
SSS Stitched Rectangles

Real Red Cardstock
Real Red Cardstock

Vellum Cardstock
Vellum Cardstock

Big Shot
Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform

EH | SSS | AMZN

Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads

EH | SSS | AMZN

Ranger Stickles - Christmas Red Glitter Glue
Ranger Stickles – Christmas Red Glitter Glue

EH | SSS


Janome 6260 Quilter's Companion Sewing Machine
Janome 6260 Quilter’s Companion Sewing Machine

MISTI - Laser Etched

MISTI – Laser Etched

5 thoughts on “My 2015 Holiday Card

  1. What a beautiful Christmas card, Caly, and I just love the family photo! It’s a great video, and I love how you’ve done it all! Hugs, and happy Thanksgiving to you all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Holiday Photo Card Blog Hop! | Craftin' Caly

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

