Ready, Set, Snow

Hi all! Finally – a NEW card!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I had that week off work and it seemed to fly by with all the preparations for the holiday! I was hoping to get some crafting done and I really didn’t do everything I wanted to do. I spent one day shopping, one day baking and ALL day Wednesday cooking for my family of 30+. It was a lot of work – they came, they ate, they left – and because I’m a complete sucker for whatever makes my kids happy, I had 6 boys here that night and the next night. PHEW! Overall, it was a very pleasant holiday despite all the work.

I gathered all my holiday cards for Iliana at My Sweet Petunia (photo on the left)- hoping they will make someone’s holiday brighter this year -and also wrapped up the Share Handmade Kindness Challenge with Jennifer McGuire (that’s a box of cookies to the right). I also completed my second-ever card order. I re-created 3 card designs (5 each) and had it shipped out that weekend (below).

IMG_0840

I also spent some time earlier this week making an Advent calendar – see my last post. OK….so maybe I DID do a lot – it just didn’t seem like it.

So how about that NEW card? I have so many stamp sets that I love that are starting to pile up! This Ready, Set, Snow set is one that I really want to use before Christmas – it comes with matching dies – one for the stamps and another for a shaker. I didn’t get the shaker dies so I had to get creative to make my own here.

Ready, Set, Snow 1

I used a circle die to cut out the window using partial-die cutting. Hey – I saved myself 27 dollars not buying that shaker die!

Ready, Set, Snow 2

I stamped and colored everything using Copic markers, cut them out, then layered them on a plain white piece of cardstock cut to the shape of the snow globe (colored with a soft blue for the background first), added sequins and beads, then enclosed it with the shaker portion.

Ready, Set, Snow 3

When I make purchases from Lawn Fawn directly, they always send a little thank you gift – a small stamp or some free samples of Lawn Fawn Paper – so I decided to use it on this card to give it some color.

If you’d like to see how I created this card, please watch my video below:

Thanks for stopping by!

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Copic Colors: E25, E59, E27 (Snow Globe Base), Y28, E87 (Snow Globe Tag), C0, C3 (Snowmen), Y21, Y11, YG07, G05, YR16, YR68, R29, R39, FB2, B28 (Snowman Accessories), B00 (Sky Background)

Not Listed: Window Sheet, Darice Iridescent Beads, Darice White Beads, Lawn Fawn Paper

 

LF Ready, Set, Snow
LF Ready, Set, Snow EH | SSS | LF
LF Ready, Set, Snow Dies

LF Ready, Set, Snow Dies

EH | SSS | LF


SSS Stitched Squares
SSS Stitched Squares

SSS Nested Circles
SSS Nested Circles

Big Shot
Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform EH | SSS | AMZN
Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads EH | SSS | AMZN
On The Edge Cutting Pads
On The Edge Cutting Pads EH | SSS | AMZN
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink EH | SSS | AMZN

Garden Green Ink
Garden Green Ink
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb EH | SSS

Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb

Sandy Allnock Hex Chart
Sandy Allnock Hex Chart
Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST
3M Scotch Foam Tape
3M Scotch Foam Tape EH | SSS | AMZN
ATG Gun
ATG Gun EH | SSS | AMZN
Micropore Tape
Micropore Tape SSS | AMZN
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue EH | SSS

EK Success Retractable Knife
EK Success Retractable Knife
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board EH | SSS
Teflon Bone Folder
Teflon Bone Folder EH | SSS
Wink of Stella Gold
Wink of Stella Gold EH | SSS | AMZN

Darice Iridescent 5mm
Darice Iridescent 5mm

Sequins Moonshine 3mm
Sequins Moonshine 3mm

Sakura Gelly Roll
Sakura Gelly Roll

Scotch Precision Ultra Edge Scissors
Scotch Precision Ultra Edge Scissors
3 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Snow

  1. Oh, Caly, first of all, thank you so much for leaving a sweet comment on my blog to encourage me. I so appreciate your thoughts and prayers. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt really good, so it was time to share a bit.

    Now, I think you got a LOT done Thanksgiving week! Wow! And it’s all beautiful, and I’m thrilled with the gift cards you’ve made for Jennifer McGuire’s Share Handmade Kindness campaign and for the cards for Iliana’s too. And I LOVE the adorable snow globe and think you were wise to save the money on the die. It worked perfectly the way you did it, and I just love how you’ve colored inside and added the sweet “snow!” Too sweet! Hugs, sweet friend…and thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

