2016 Classroom Valentine’s Day Cards

Happy Birthday to my youngest, Liam! He’s 3 today! He wont be the youngest for much longer! Here’s a picture I posted on Instagram and Facebook this morning:

Liams 3rd Bday

 

Instead of making him a card he won’t enjoy or remember, I’ve spent the couple of nights working on Valentine’s Day cards for my older boys to take to school.  I’m 3 weeks early but that gives me a lot of time to do other crafting and I won’t have to worry about this down the road.

 

Also – an update! I took my 3 hour glucose test this past Tuesday and got my blood drawn 4 times – each blood draw came back below threshold so I am in the clear! Thanks for all your well wishes and prayers!

Oh! And Baby Lyla will be here in 10-11 weeks! EEEK!

2016 Class VDay 4

I made my kids Vday cards last year for the first time using patterned paper banner pieces and some simple stamping.  WHY I chose to do it again this year – I have no idea.  Kids don’t appreciate this craftsmanship and most likely, these will end up in the trash. I guess I want them to have something a little different that isn’t store bought and it wont be too long before Vday cards are no longer cool to pass out at school.  Evan of course, ooooos and awwws about them and absolutely loves it when I’m crafting – especially when it’s a project for him.

Aren’t these little mini notes adorable? Is it fun to die cut 70+ of these? No…lol. After I made my first 50 for my kids, I text’d my sisters to show them and they wanted some too – so I made more yesterday because I’m a complete pushover (or because I like to craft and them liking it makes me happy).

2016 Class VDay 3

For the heart, I used a Stampin’ Up! set called Bloomin’ Love – which is available now in their spring Occasions catalog. The sentiment is from a Hero Arts stamp and cut set called Love. I free stamped the hearts but used the MISTI tool for the sentiments to make sure they were straight.

2016 Class VDay 2

I punched some hearts to help the trifold mini notes stay together and to make them gender specific (boys don’t like hearts and pink…right?)

2016 Class VDay 1

I also stamped a heart and the word friend inside the trifold mini notes as a message because let’s face it – when they’re 6 and 9 – I’m hoping they are XOXO’ing anyone or asking anyone to “be mine.”

The video for this is really short – only 5  mins long if you’d like to watch it come together! Thanks for stopping by!

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Note listed below:  pastel cardstock for the punched hearts (I got an inexpensive pack a long time ago from Michaels and am still working through it).

Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb EH | SSS

Real Red Ink
Real Red Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink EH | SSS | AMZN

Big Shot
Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform EH | SSS | AMZN
Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads EH | SSS | AMZN

WF Mini Trifold Notes
WF Mini Trifold Notes

Bloomin Love
Bloomin Love
HA Stamp & Cuts - Love
HA Stamp & Cuts – Love EH | SSS | HA

Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack
Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack
ATG Gun
ATG Gun EH | SSS | AMZN
ZOTs Adhesive Dots
ZOTs Adhesive Dots EH | SSS | AMZN
Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper
Crop-A-Dile Corner Chomper EH | SSS | AMZN

MISTI - Laser Etched
MISTI – Laser Etched

Absorber
Absorber
3 thoughts on “2016 Classroom Valentine’s Day Cards

  1. Oh, Caly, what an adorable vcard for the boys! It’s just the sweetest, and you are a precious mom to make ALL these sweet little cards! I loved your video, and a big happy birthday to Liam! He’s so adorable! I love your photo of him and what you superimposed on it that you one day will no longer be his greatest love. How precious! So glad to hear your glucose test went well. Continuing to pray you do well, and thanks again for another adorable post! Hugs, sweet friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

