Doodle Buds

Hello again!

I thought I would make a quick card to stay up to date with LiveLoveCards‘s monthly challenges.  I do one every month but am way behind this month.  I think I had a hard time deciding what to do because there were so many options this month. I chose this one because I’ve never done a diagonal layout before. The black border there is a Darlene trait! I usually don’t make things pop with black or colored cardstock – but I should! It’s definitely something I need to get used to doing more.  Darlene’s card was colored using distress inks. I used all Copics here.

Doodle Buds 3

I wanted the background of this diagonal piece to have some color, so I used a lighter shade of each element and burst the color out to where they met with another color. I’m just glad it turned out the way I had hoped!

Doodle Buds

This stamp set is called Doodle Buds by WPlus9 – it’s such a simple set but I’ve seen Kathy Racoosin do some beautiful coloring with it. I thought I would try to be adventurous. The sentiment is also from the same stamp set.

Doodle Buds 1

Kathy loves to add highlights to her flowers using a white pen – so I tried to add some of that here also. I really think it makes a HUGE difference! It really adds a lot to the images on this card.

Doodle Buds 2

I didn’t make a video for this card – it takes a long time for me to choose colors as I’m working since I didn’t plan ahead this time but I’ll list all the colors below. I hope you liked this card!

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Copic Colors Used: 0 Colorless Blender

Greens: G000, VG41, G03, G05

Yellows/Oranges: YG0000, Y08, Y19, Y38

Violets: V000, V12, V15, V17

Browns: E43, E44

Blues: B000, FB2, B28, B26, B69

WPlus9 Doodle Buds
WPlus9 Doodle Buds

EH | SSS | WPlus9


Basic Black Cardstock
Basic Black Cardstock

Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb

EH | SSS

Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers

EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST


Sakura Gelly Roll
Sakura Gelly Roll
MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink
MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink

SSS | MFT

ATG Gun
ATG Gun

EH | SSS | AMZN


Scotch Precision Ultra Edge Scissors
Scotch Precision Ultra Edge Scissors

MISTI - Laser Etched

MISTI – Laser Etched

Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board

EH | SSS

Teflon Bone Folder
Teflon Bone Folder

EH | SSS

4 thoughts on “Doodle Buds

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

