2016 Year of the Monkey Lucky Red Envelopes

So did you think the New Year has already begun? Not for those who follow the Lunar Calendar! The Lunar New Year (Chinese/Vietnamese New Year) is next week. It’s a 3 day celebration with lots of festivities – one of which includes these lucky red envelopes. We put money in them and pass them out to wish others happiness, prosperity, luck, etc. The kids love it because they get money (it’s like a second Christmas!)

2016 Year of the Monkey Lucky Red Envelopes 3

I’m not sure how everyone celebrates this part of New Year’s, but in our family, EVERYONE gets an envelope.  The adults only get a dollar or two, but again…it’s for luck – not so much about the amount of money in the envelope.

2016 Year of the Monkey Lucky Red Envelopes 4

I made 24 of these for my family and a few close friends. It’s always fun yet daunting to mass produce – but I don’t mind being able to use these supplies every year! All these products are by Mama Elephant and I was so excited about them!

I die-cut everything, then stamped and cut everything, did some stamping/embossing and that’s it! So simple even though it took a few hours to complete.

2016 Year of the Monkey Lucky Red Envelopes 2

Each one is positioned a little different but the process is the same.

2016 Year of the Monkey Lucky Red Envelopes 1

I’m so excited to pass these out to my family knowing I handmade them all!

If you want to see the process, here’s my video:

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Copic Marker Colors Used: Monkeys’ faces: E50, E30, R20;  Monkeys’ head and body: E42, E55; Cherry Blossoms: RV10, RV04; Leaves: YG4, G05; Branches: E57, E27

 

ME Lunar Animals
ME Lunar Animals

EH | SSS | ME

ME Lunar Extras
ME Lunar Extras

EH | SSS | ME

ME Lucky Envelope
ME Lucky Envelope

EH | SSS | ME

Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink

EH | SSS | AMZN


Real Red Cardstock
Real Red Cardstock
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb

EH | SSS

Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers

EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST


Big Shot
Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform

EH | SSS | AMZN

Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads

EH | SSS | AMZN

Versamark Ink
Versamark Ink

EH | SSS | AMZN


Heat Tool
Heat Tool
WOW Metallic Gold Rich Regular Embossing Powder
WOW Metallic Gold Rich Regular Embossing Powder

SSS | JOANN

ATG Gun
ATG Gun

EH | SSS | AMZN

Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue

EH | SSS

Tombow Liquid Multi Mono Glue
Tombow Liquid Multi Mono Glue

EH | SSS | SU


SSS Friends Die
EK Success Cutter Bee Scissors
7 thoughts on “2016 Year of the Monkey Lucky Red Envelopes

  1. Thanks for the info on the lunar new year. My older daughter is a monkey and I wouldn’t trade her for the world. I hope your little daughter to be born in the year of the monkey is as wonderful as mine. My daughter will be 24 in July and never ceases to amaze me.
    I’ve never known anyone who celebrated lunar new year, but I know a little about it since I teach. It is nice getting a first hand perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mia! I can tell this little girl is going to keep me on my toes. She does flips and all sorts of crazy moves and it’s getting to a point where it hurts and I’m so uncomfortable, I’m just ready for her to be here! 8 more weeks to go!

      Like

  2. Pingback: 2017 Year of the Rooster Lucky Red Envelopes | Craftin' Caly

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

