2016 Graduate

One of the first cards I ever made was a graduation card for my husband when he graduated from medical school 2 years ago. I did not own any stamps at that time and was just introduced to card making by my then-neighbor, Karen. Her son is now graduating from college and I feel so blessed to know this family. Brandon is going to be an engineer graduate and will be moving to Arizona to work for PSE Archery – such an awesome job, not to mention that Brandon is a highly skilled archer himself!

2016 Grad

Lyla took a very long nap this morning. After completing two cards for Splitcoaststampers, I remembered that we have Brandon’s graduation party to go to this weekend, so I had to come up with something quick. I hope the blue is not overkill because these are his school colors.  I used Pacific Point cardstock and stamped out the numbers in the coordinating Stampin’ Up! color. This Mama Elephant set is so cute and I also have the dies. The hat and sentiment are from Stampin’ Up!’s Pure Gumption set. I used the Puffy Clouds dies from Lawn fawn to cut out vellum and layered them to create a gradient of clouds.

2016 Grad 2

I used staples to attach the clouds – I didn’t want to use adhesive and thought this would be a good option. I also used foam adhesive behind the numbers to give the number balloons some dimension. Such a simple and quick card!

Lyla is 5 weeks old now. Time has really flown by. The day goes by too fast between feedings and taking care of my 3 year old, Liam. I convinced myself before the baby came that I would have him potty trained during my maternity leave but it’s hard to enforce it when he is so resistant. I know he’ll do it when he’s ready and I’m in no hurry to make him grow up. I don’t have a video for the card I made above, but I do have a video that I want to share. Nichole Nordeman is a beautiful Christian singer who has touched me with more than one song –  she wrote this song very recently when her son prepared to graduate from the 5th grade. It pulls at my heartstrings.

I also want to welcome baby Faye Jordan Wears! My sister-in-law and her husband brought new life into this world this morning and I’m so excited for them. I look forward to our relationship growing by leaps and bounds as we watch our daughters grow up together. We love them so much and baby Faye is beautiful in every way! Such a blessing to have such wonderful people in our lives. They love us just the way we want and need to be loved and know how to bring laughter to us like no one else. Giving and receiving love are two very different things and what makes these guys so special is me is that they are great at both!

I also want to share an alphabet poster I made for Lyla that I hung up in her room. I have not practiced my lettering at all – but I get inspired every day as I scroll through Instagram so I spent some time making this for her 2 weeks ago.

Alphabet Nursery

Alphabet Nursery 1

Have a blessed day!

XOXO,

Caly

SUPPLIES for graduation card:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).


Pure Gumption (Retired)
Pure Gumption (Retired)
ME Balloon Et Cetera
ME Balloon Et Cetera EH | SSS |ME

Pacific Point Ink
Pacific Point Ink
Stazon Jet Black Ink
Stazon Jet Black Ink EH | SSS | AMZN
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink EH | SSS | AMZN

Pacific Point Cardstock
Pacific Point Cardstock

Vellum Cardstock
Vellum Cardstock

Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb
Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST

White/Gray Big Shot
White/Gray Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform EH | SSS | AMZN
Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads EH | SSS | AMZN
ME Balloon Et Cetera
ME Balloon Et Cetera EH | SSS | ME
ATG Gun
ATG Gun EH | SSS | AMZN
ZOTs Adhesive Dots
ZOTs Adhesive Dots EH | SSS | AMZN

Clear Block Bundle
Clear Block Bundle

Handheld Stapler
Handheld Stapler

Mini MISTI - Laser Etched
Mini MISTI – Laser Etched
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board EH | SSS
Teflon Bone Folder
Teflon Bone Folder EH | SSS

Stampin' Dimensionals
Stampin’ Dimensionals

Absorber
Absorber
One thought on “2016 Graduate

  1. Oh, dearest Caly! This was an especially touching post today! First of all, I love the graduation card and know that Brandon will LOVE it! It’s just perfect, and he will love that you’ve used his school colors! And I love Nichole Nordeman and was so touched by that song – have not heard it yet on our local Christian station. But oh my, yes, slow down, because the years fly by so quickly. I can see why it touched your tender heart! What a beautiful poster you’ve made for Lyla, and your writing is amazing! Keep working and showing us more! Big hugs and love, sweet friend! xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

