Washi Tape Card

Hi Everyone!

My term designing for Splitcoastampers is over – it’s very bittersweet! I honestly didn’t think I could do it at times so it’s a relief, but it’s also sad that it’s over. It’s been such and honor and a blessing to create cards with such amazing cardmakers and papercrafters!

This card is for the July Challenge over at LiveLoveCards. This month’s challenge is cards made using washi tape. It’s SUPER easy!

I took my card base and covered most of it with strips of washi. Because I knew I wanted to do balloons, I decided to do a watercolor wash for the top layer.  Here’s what they both looked like before construction:

Washi Card 2

I let the watercolor panel air dry while I adhered washi to my card base. When I was done, I used some balloon dies and cut them out of the watercolor panel and drew some balloon strings on with a black marker. I die cut the words “happy birthday” and propped the ends over the balloon with some foam, added some sequins.

Washi Card

Thought I was done but felt something wasn’t right, so I added a strip of diagonal black/clear washi to the left and I think it definitely added a special element to this card. ALL DONE!

Washi Card 1

Thanks for stopping by!

Signature

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Zig Colors: 032 Persian Blue, 084 Deep Violet

AE A Tag for All
AE A Tag for All

EH | SSS | AE

MFT Balloon STAX
MFT Balloon STAX

EH | SSS | MFT


White/Gray Big Shot
White/Gray Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform

EH | SSS | AMZN

Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads

EH | SSS | AMZN


Basic Black Cardstock
Basic Black Cardstock
Canson XL WaterColor Paper Pad
Canson XL WaterColor Paper Pad

EH | SSS | JOANN


Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb
Ranger Mini Mister
Ranger Mini Mister

EH | SSS

Zig Clean Color Real Brush
Zig Clean Color Real Brush

EH | SSS | AMZN

Glossy Accents
Glossy Accents

EH | SSS | AMZN

Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue

EH | SSS


SU Stampin' Dimensionals
SU Stampin’ Dimensionals
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board

EH | SSS

Teflon Bone Folder
Teflon Bone Folder

EH | SSS


Epic Day Washi
Epic Day Washi

Sweet Sadie Washi
Sweet Sadie Washi (Retired)

Darice Crystal Iridescent 5mm
Darice Crystal Iridescent 5mm

Sequins Moonshine 3mm
Sequins Moonshine 3mm

Absorber
Absorber
8 thoughts on “Washi Tape Card

  1. Oh, Caly, it is sad when the Dirty Dozen Design Team term is up, but you’ve made us all proud to see the beautiful cards you’ve made these last six months. And it really does fly by. I absolutely love this card and delight at seeing the two separate pieces before you put it together. What a fabulous and fun card! I love the colors and the great sentiment dies! Hugs, sweet friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

