3D Holiday Scene

Print

Welcome back!  Thanks for staying tuned to see my second card for the My Favorite Things’ Card Design Superstar Contest!  I created this card using ONE
simple die.  THAT’S RIGHT! You don’t need a fancy die – you just have to be BRAVE.  I took lots of photos so if you want to see the process – keep reading! 🙂  This card folds and fits in an A2 (4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″) envelop.

christmas-elf-scene-7

I started with a piece of white cardstock that is 4 1/4″ x 7″ – scored 1.5″ from each end. I didn’t know what I was going to do so I scored it first.  If you want to ink blend like I did – you can get a cleaner look by blending color first, then scoring. I chose Spun Sugar, Dried Marigold and Tumbled glass to achieve the sunset colors above.

christmas-elf-scene-6

I centered the die over this panel and made the first cut – don’t worry! I know it’s not long enough to cut through the entire 7″ panel! The first cut will guide you to cut the ends – I promise!  Once you cut the center, just line up the die with one end to cut the rest- you can feel it sit in the previous cut like it’s meant to be :). Repeat with the other end.

christmas-elf-scene-5

Using the same die and a flatter die from the same die set, I cut out two hills from lengths of 4 1/2″ – you can make the height however high you want, then added some Pumice Stone ink to make it look like dirty snow. Snow is dirty when stepped it. And color gives it depth. hehe. Score 1/4″ from each end – this is where you’ll put your adhesive to add them to the previous panel to make this card 3D.

I’m old school and still have some sticky strip – it’s not the stuff you can easily tear. It’s ok – use what you have!  I put one side down, making sure it’s lined up with the bottom of the card. See photo above. Once that is adhered, leave it laying flat and remove the backing from the other two “hills” and just fold over the right panel. This will ensure it sits in the right place perfectly and can fold flat to put in an envelop if you want to mail it.  You have your card base – now you can decorate it how you want! Oh – and if you haven’t noticed- I flickered some water on this panel to add water blots to give it a “snowfall” background too.

christmas-elf-scene

I colored an elf and christmas tree using Copic markers and added some embellishments using a Sakura White Gelly Roll pen and some Marvy Snow Marker embossing liquid to create the fur on the elf’s hat and sleeves.

christmas-elf-scene-2

AHHH!!! Isn’t he cute?!?  I just love this card so much!

christmas-elf-scene-1

I hope you enjoyed it! Please stay tuned – I will post my final card for the contest TOMORROW!!! WISH ME LUCK! I really WANNE BE A SUPERSTAR!

XOXO,

caly-sig

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Copics: R29, R39, G14, YG09, G19, Y15, Y28, FB2, B28, E50, E21, E23, E57, E27

Distress:  Pumice Stone, Spun Sugar, Dried Marigold, Tumbled Glass

"MFT
MFT Santa’s Elves

EH | SSS | MFT

MFT Stitched Basic Edges
MFT Stitched Basic Edges

EH | SSS | MFT


White/Gray Big Shot
White/Gray Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform

EH | SSS | AMZN

Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads

EH | SSS | AMZN

EK Success Powder Tool
EK Success Powder Tool

EH | SSS | AMZN

Versafine Onyx Black
Versafine Onyx Black

EH | SSS


SU Heat Tool
SU Heat Tool

Marvy Snow Marker
Marvy Snow Marker
WOW Clear Gloss Superfine
WOW Clear Gloss Superfine

SSS | AMZN

Ranger Tim Holtz Mini Distress Inks
Ranger Tim Holtz Mini Distress Inks

EH | SSS

MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink
MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink

SSS | MFT

Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb

EH | SSS

Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers

EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST

Ranger Mini Round Foam Blending Refills
Ranger Mini Round Foam Blending Refills

EH | SSS | AMZN

Ranger Mini Round Blending Tools

Ranger Mini Round Blending Tools

EH | SSS | AMZN


Sakura Gelly Roll
Sakura Gelly Roll
ATG Gun
ATG Gun

EH | SSS | AMZN


SU Sticky Strip (Retired)
SU Sticky Strip (Retired)

Absorber
Absorber
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board

EH | SSS


Mini MISTI - Laser Etched

Mini MISTI – Laser Etched

Teflon Bone Folder
Teflon Bone Folder

EH | SSS


SSS Friends Die
EK Success Cutter Bee Scissors
Wink of Stella Gold
Wink of Stella Gold

EH | SSS | AMZN

4 thoughts on “3D Holiday Scene

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

