Frosty Fairy Friends

I can’t believe Christmas will be here in a few short weeks! It’s so wild! I’ve finished my holiday cards and plan to post about them next week – so stay tuned!  I’ll be a part of an exciting blog hop and I hope you’ll return to see it.  I even have a video made that I just need to do a voice-over on.

This card was done for two reasons – the LiveLoveCards challenge for the month is Christmas cards and Kathy Racoosin is doing another 30 day coloring challenge.  I stamped a bunch of the images from Lawn Fawn’s Frosty Fairy Friends set and started coloring with Copics.  It’s been a while!  I also knew that I wanted to do a pop up card.  Lawn Fawn has an amazing die that will do this for you – creating two hills that are held together by tabs.  I can’t justify spending 30 dollars on a die knowing I could create something similar with what I have so I decided I should try it!

frosty-fairy-friends-1

I used Lawn Fawn’s Stitched Hillside Borders dies and cut two slopes out, scored them at the bottom at 1/4″ – enough for some glue to glue this piece to the bottom of the card base and then added some distress ink to highlight the slopes.  After deciding how far I wanted each hill to come out from the center of the card base, I measured and marked where I wanted them to be and made tabs going from each hillside to the back of the cardbase (with tabs to glue to each piece – it will look like a piece with two score marks).  Sorry – this is easier to see than explain.  You can see one of my tabs on the left side of the card in the photo above.

frosty-fairy-friends-2

I used my Marvy Snow Marker to add dimension on the images to create a snow effect. The snowflakes and fairy wings have Wink of Stella Clear shimmer on them but you can’t see them on the photos here.

The outside of the card is plain, but I created a belly-band with a snowflake tag to spruce it up.

frosty-fairy-friends-3

I hope you all enjoyed this! See you next Wednesday for my holiday card reveal!

XOXO,

caly-sig

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Copic colors: BG0000, B0000, BG11, BG34, V12, V15, YG05, G09, Y11, Y21, R20, B28, R29, R39, E34, E47, E87, E21, E53, YR20

Distress inks:  Broken China, Stormy Sky

LF Frosty Fairy Friends
LF Frosty Fairy Friends EH | SSS | LF
HA Winter Cheer Tag Set
HA Winter Cheer Tag Set EH | SSS
LF Stitched Hillside Borders
LF Stitched Hillside Borders EH | SSS | LF

White/Gray Big Shot
White/Gray Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform EH | SSS | AMZN
Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads EH | SSS | AMZN

Marvy Snow Marker
Marvy Snow Marker

SU Heat Tool
SU Heat Tool
MFT Black Licorice Hybrid Ink
MFT Black Licorice Hybrid InkSSS | MFT
Ranger Tim Holtz Mini Distress Inks
Ranger Tim Holtz Mini Distress Inks EH | SSS

Soft Sky Cardstock
Soft Sky Cardstock

Winter Frost DSP (retired)
Winter Frost DSP (retired)
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb EH | SSS
Ranger Mini Round Foam Blending Refills
Ranger Mini Round Foam Blending Refills EH | SSS | AMZN
Ranger Mini Round Blending Tools

Ranger Mini Round Blending Tools

EH | SSS | AMZN

Tombow Liquid Multi Mono Glue
Tombow Liquid Multi Mono Glue EH | SSS | AMZN

Absorber
Absorber

Mini MISTI - Laser Etched
Mini MISTI – Laser Etched
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board
Martha Stewart Mini Scoring Board EH | SSS
Teflon Bone Folder
Teflon Bone Folder EH | SSS
Wink of Stella Clear
Wink of Stella Clear EH | SSS | AMZN
3 thoughts on “Frosty Fairy Friends

  1. Oh, Caly, this is absolutely darling, and I love how you’ve created your own pop-up card. I don’t blame you about the price and being able to do it yourself. It’s beautifully done, and I love your coloring! Hugs, sweet friend! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks sooooo much, Amanda! I have a Brother Scan N Cut as well and have been meaning to draw up my own file for personal use. I appreciate the link!

      Like

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

