2017 Year of the Rooster Lucky Red Envelopes

Happy Lunar New Year!

I wish all my wonderful family and friends much love, good health, and prosperity this coming year.  It’s been such a long week. My little Liam turned 4 on Monday and my nephew Aaron turned 15 on Wednesday.  My family also experienced loss today.  Even in despair, we were able to unite and celebrate the new year before last minute trips out of the country.   Cancer is such a terrible thing but I take solace in knowing the pain and suffering has ended. We were supposed to celebrate on Sunday because because this happened, I scrambled today to get these envelopes made.

I learned last year from making these envelopes, that 80lb paper was too thick.  So this year, I went to Michaels and got a pack of 65lb red cardstock.  It’s inexpensive and serves its purpose great for this project.  I use the Mama Elephant Lucky Envelope die and cut out two envelopes. Then I stamped twenty roosters and lamps on cardstock and colored them using Copic markers.

2017-lucky-envelope

2017-lucky-envelope-1

Eep! They are sooo cute!  I set these aside and began to emboss the sentiment and an image of cherry blossoms from the Lunar Extras set onto the red envelopes using my MISTI tool.  I speed up this process by stamping and applying powder to a batch of envelopes before heat setting them. Once that was done – it was a matter of gluing these chickidees onto the envelope.

2017-lucky-envelope-2

I really look forward to making these every year for the next 10 years…lol…just so I can design each a little different and use each of the 12 animals on this stamp set.  Last year, I make envelopes using monkeys.  If you wish to see that project, simply click HERE.

Before I go, I also want to share a quick birthday card I made using an Altenew layering set. I believe this stamp set is from a set called Beautiful Day.  I could be wrong.  It’s 1:34 am right now and I’m super tired!

beautiful-day

All stamping and no coloring here (I did outline those berries – but that doesn’t count as coloring).

beautiful-day1

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

XOXO,

Caly sig

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Copic Colors:  R29, R17, Y28, Y08, Y38, G00, BG32, E30, E000, R20

Not Listed Below:  Recollections 65lb Red Cardstock

ME Lunar Animals
ME Lunar Animals

EH | SSS | ME

ME Lunar Extras
ME Lunar Extras

EH | SSS | ME

ME Lucky Envelope
ME Lucky Envelope

EH | SSS | ME


White/Gray Big Shot
White/Gray Big Shot
Big Shot Magnetic Platform
Big Shot Magnetic Platform

EH | SSS | AMZN

Standard Cutting Pads
Standard Cutting Pads

EH | SSS | AMZN

EK Success Powder Tool
EK Success Powder Tool

EH | SSS | AMZN

Versamark Ink
Versamark Ink

EH | SSS | AMZN


SU Heat Tool
SU Heat Tool
WOW Metallic Gold Rich Regular Embossing Powder
WOW Metallic Gold Rich Regular Embossing Powder

SSS | JOANN

Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink

EH | SSS | AMZN

Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb

EH | SSS

Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers

EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST


SU 2-Way Glue Pen
SU 2-Way Glue Pen

MISTI - Laser Etched

MISTI – Laser Etched

3 thoughts on “2017 Year of the Rooster Lucky Red Envelopes

  1. Call…how cute are those envelopes. Also love the Altenew flower card. What ink colors did you use for the flower? I never seem to pick the right colors for the layer stamps. Beautiful..just beautiful! Thanks for sharing and inspiring me to create!

    Like

    • I believe I used Rose Red, Beth! Just ONE color on the entire image. I stamped off twice for the bottom layer, once for the middle layer, and then none for the top layer. 🙂

      Like

  2. First of all, Caly, I’m so sorry to learn of your loss. Yes, cancer is a terrible thing. What darling cards you’ve made for this year’s celebration, and I love the little roosters with the lamps…so sweet layered on the red with the embossing. These will be loved. And I love your Altenew card with the beautiful colors and layout! The rich red mat is perfect! Wishing you a lovely rest of the weekend and some much-needed rest…which is hard with all you have going on in life. Hugs and love, sweet friend! xoxo

    Like

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

