Mother’s Day 2017

Happy Mother’s Day, Crafting Friends!

Hope you’re having a wonderful day!  I should’ve shared these cards sooner but it’s been a busy couple of days and lots of activities.  I had my 10 year college reunion the other night…that makes me feel old, but it was a lot of fun!    I want to quickly share a few cards that I made for Mother’s Day as well as a a little project I did for Teacher’s Appreciation week.

  1.  Floral Card in a Box (click on images to zoom)

    I’ve made these a few times in the past year – their a favorite for my next door neighbor ;).  There are lots of tutorials on Pinterest and YouTube.  Here’s my last blog post here and the link to the video I used:  https://craftincaly.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/floral-40th-card-in-a-box/

  2. Freehand Florals (click on images to zoom)

    This is simple layered stamping – but I love the bouquet look.  The stamp set is called Freehand Florals and you can view it here.  I embossed the sentiment with white embossing powder on black cardstock and added sequins to finish off the card.

  3. Second Generation SpotLight (click on images to zoom)

    As soon as I saw Jennifer McGuire’s video on this last week using the new Ellen Hutson’s Courage stamp set to benefit the Breast Cancer Research Foundation, I had to try this technique for myself.  I don’t have that stamp set yet (but I did order it this morning) – so I used the same Freehand Florals set from above and it turned out sooooo beautifully!  You can view Jennifer’s blog post with video here.

  4. Cross-stitched Roses

    This stamp set by Waffle Flowers called Stitched Roses is amazing!  I spent a lot of time lining up these layering images….my OCD killed me but it turned out looking so relistic!  You can find the awesome stamp set here.  I used a simple border die and some sequins to keep the card simple.  It’s so pretty!

  5. Teacher Appreciation – Cupcake Liner Flowers

    Last week was Teacher Appreciation week.  On Thursday night…I got a text from Evan’s friend’s mom asking if I had any paper flowers lying around.  It was bedtime and there was a situation/possible meltdown because crafting was not going so well in their home.  She wanted to make a project for her teacher and so I got excited at the chance to make some flowers so I went all out!  I followed this tutorial by Lia Griffith and made these cute flowers using cupcake liners and pencils.  I decorated some cardstock to wrap around a small jar and it turned out so cute.  The gift card was something I quickly stamped to hold gift cards for my boys’ teachers.

That’s all for now!  Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

XOXO,

Caly

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day 2017

  1. Caly, what inks did you use on the 1st freehand floral cards? I’m trying to get more inks, specifically pinks! I just tried this technique on lunch today, my stamping is done but need to do die cutting still. Was fun! Love the look

    Like

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

