Life Is Tough But So Are You

Happy Friday!!!

I’m so excited to have a 3 day weekend!  My husband will be off for the first time in 2 weeks and I can’t tell you what a relief that is!  My kids are out of school for the summer and it has been a LONG week.  It only occurred to me two nights ago that I have not made any cards for leisure since Mother’s Day.  That’s how pre-occupied my mind has been!  I also picked up pointed pen calligraphy for the first time in a very long time time this week with every intent to practice the Copperplate script.  I’ve been hesitating for a while because there is so much involved.  So many different pen holders, inks, nibs, papers – it’s quite overwhelming.  I chose the wrong ink to start with and I struggled for hours the first evening I tried.  So I’ll say this – I HATE Higgins Calligraphy Ink (supposedly Higgins Eternal Ink is great though…I wouldn’t know at this point).

You can click on the images above to  enlarge – but I tried to write the letter a with the Higgins ink and struggled for a few hours before I decided to switch to a new ink.  I had tried three different nibs and they did not make a difference at all.  I do have an instagram account for my lettering if you’re interested in following.  The handle name is Calygraphy – clever, right?  😉

So about my cards.  I thought after a long hard week that I should make some encouragement cards.  Anyone else shop with Ellen Hutson?  I’m going to have to endorse this amazing company for a second…because they are AMAZING.  First of all – they are wonderful people who reward loyal customers.  I thoroughly enjoy using their 10% off discount to have an excuse to place an order monthly.  🙂 . To honor some special women in their lives, they created a stamp set to benefit the Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF).  It’s a beautiful set and $25 from each set sold goes to fund the BCRF.  What a wonderful cause, right?  It’s also a beautiful stamp set that comes with coordinating dies with some powerful sentiments.  You must see it for yourself – the link will be provided below in my supplies.

Life is Tough But So Are You

I stamped a lot of images.  I love layering stamps as well – they add lots of dimension with little effort.  These images are smaller so it’s nice to have coordinating dies.  I made lots of passes through my big shot to cut out all of them.  I have a Brother Scan N Cut 2 that I could’ve used to make all the cuts in one pass but because I had the dies – I decided to do it the traditional way.

Life is Tough But So Are You 1

I need to start making more than one card when I pull out supplies to make a card. That’s what I did this time.  The color variation makes it fun.

Life is Tough But So Are You 2

I sponged some distress ink in the background to give the card some color and embossed the sentiment in clear powder using Versafine Onyx Black Ink.  The sequins finish off the card with a bit of shine.

Life is Tough But So Are You 4

Last week, I also made a graduation card for my neighbor – she graduated from Elementary school so I thought I would make a fun card using their school colors.  I used Lawn Fawn’s Smart Cookie stamp set and some punches to make a banner.   I got this idea straight from the Lawn Fawn website and cased it – I couldn’t come up with an original design!  Very basic but I made it fun for her by using a Mini Action Wobbles.

Smart Cookie Panther 1

Smart Cookie Panther

That’s all for today!  I hope you enjoyed my two cards!  Supplies for the Courage card will be listed below!  Have a wonderful weekend!

XOXO,

caly-sig

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).


EH Courage bcrf
EH Courage brcf

EH Courage Dies
EH Courage Dies

SU Heat Tool
SU Heat Tool
EK Success Powder Tool
EK Success Powder Tool

EH | SSS | AMZN

Versafine Onyx Black
Versafine Onyx Black

EH | SSS

WOW Clear Gloss Superfine
WOW Clear Gloss Superfine

SSS | AMZN


Pink Pirouette Ink
Pink Pirouette Ink

Blushing Bride Ink
Blushing Bride Ink

Crisp Canteloupe Ink
Crisp Canteloupe Ink (Retired)

Flirty Flamingo Ink
Flirty Flamingo Ink

Garden Green Ink
Garden Green Ink

Old Olive Ink
Old Olive Ink

Wild Wasabi Ink
Wild Wasabi Ink

Wisteria Wonder Ink
Wisteria Wonder Ink

Perfect Plum Ink
Perfect Plum Ink

Melon Mambo Ink
Melon Mambo Ink

Rose Red Ink
Rose Red Ink

Soft Sky Ink
Soft Sky Ink

Marina Mist Ink
Marina Mist Ink
ATG Gun
ATG Gun

EH | SSS | AMZN

MFT Wonky Stitched Rectangle STAX
MFT Wonky Stitched Rectangle STAX

EH | SSS | MFT

Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue

EH | SSS

MSP Mini MISTI
MSP Mini MISTI

EH | SSS | MSP

PPP Sparking Clear Confetti Mix
PPP Sparking Clear Confetti Mix

EH | SSS | PPP


Flirty Flamingo Cardstock
Flirty Flamingo Cardstock

Mint Macaron Cardstock
Mint Macaron Cardstock
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb

EH | SSS


Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb
3 thoughts on “Life Is Tough But So Are You

  1. Oh, sweet Caly, what a joy to have your dear husband off this weekend! Yay! I know you all need it, and I pray that you will enjoy the time together! And wow, I absolutely LOVE these cards, and you’re right about Ellen Hutson LLC! I have just purchased this set and will be CASEing your beautiful cards! And what an adorable graduation card! You make the sweetest cards, my friend…and you are just the sweetest! Have a beautiful time with the family! Love and hugs! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

