Fish Family

Hello Everyone!

My coworker asked me to make a card for her parents’ wedding anniversary and asked me to personalize it for her using fish to recreate members.  The choice was between fish and elephants and since I didn’t think I could fit 8 elephants on a 4.25″ x 5.5″ card, I chose fish.  It was more fun to create an ocean scene anyway :).

Anniversary Fish

I created a watercolor background using purples and blues from my Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers.  I didn’t write down what colors I used – but they were dark.  The water really lightens/brightens up the color when spritzed on.  Then I stamped all the pieces and colored using Copics. I also had to use the mirror-image technique to flip two of the fish for it to go the other way – I’ve never done that before!

Anniversary Fish 2

I added some white accents using my white Gelly Roll pen.  

Anniversary Fish 3

I built my scene and glued it all down using some multi-medium matte glue and added bubbles using my white Gelly Roll pen.

Anniversary Fish 4

I hand-drew the bows on the female fish and also wrote her family member’s names on the card before shipping it to her.

Anniversary Fish 5

Hope you enjoyed that!  The summer heat is hitting Kansas City hard now.  Stay cool!

XOXO,

caly-sig

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

LF Fintastic Friends
LF Fintastic Friends EH | SSS | LF
LF Happy Everything
LF Happy Everything EH | SSS | LF
MFT Stitched Rectangle Scallop FramesMFT Stitched Rectangle Scallop Frames

EH | SSS | MFT


SSS Stitched Slopes and Hills
SSS Stitched Slopes and Hills

White/Gray Big Shot
White/Gray Big Shot

2.5
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink EH | SSS | AMZN

MFT Gold Sparkle Card Stock
MFT Gold Sparkle Card Stock
Canson XL WaterColor Paper Pad
Canson XL WaterColor Paper Pad EH | SSS | JOANN
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb EH | SSS

Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb
Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST
Ranger Tim Holtz Distres Sprayer
Ranger Tim Holtz Distres Sprayer EH | SSS
Zig Clean Color Real Brush
Zig Clean Color Real Brush EH | SSS | AMZN

Sakura Gelly Roll
Sakura Gelly Roll
MFT Mirror Image
MFT Mirror Image EH | SSS | MFT
ATG Gun
ATG Gun EH | SSS | AMZN
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue EH | SSS
One thought on “Fish Family

  1. Oh, Caly, this is absolutely adorable! What a sweet card and a wonderful theme for their family! You are amazing, and I love the beautiful underwater background. And all those little fish (and doing the reverse stamping technique…yay for you!) are so sweet, especially the ones with the bows! Hehe! It’s definitely going to be the best card they’ve ever gotten. What a joy you are, sweet friend! Stay cool and safe. It’s really hot this summer! Hugs and love! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

