Enchanted Iris

Hi, Friends!

The 30 day coloring challenge is going on this month and I’ve been staying up late trying to color.  The My Favorite Things Superstar contest is also going on.  I’m trying to get some cards made for that.  I’m not as hopeful this year – someone slap me because I’m being a Debbie Downer!  One of the card themes is coloring.  While I have confidence in my coloring, I feel like there are not a lot of stamps that would really showcase my coloring.  Sure…there are lots of cute stamps – I just don’t know how to make them better than what others can do with coloring.  Some ideas or motivation would be nice!  Like this amazing iris stamp set by Altenew that I colored for Kathy Racoosin’s coloring challenge.  It’s really fun trying to recreate a flower!

IMG_1914

I colored this lily by Concord & 9th the other day…made a card and forgot to take pictures – so I’m sharing the image I posted on Instagram.  It’s really hard to make it look realistic!  I tried again with the Iris and am happier with how it turned out.  Here’s the image I used as inspiration:

I love coloring with Copics…and I LOVE irises!

Iris 2

I sponged the background with some distress ink in Tumbled Glass and added some sequins to finish off the card.  I feel like coloring is always 95% of my cards.  Once I have things colored, putting it together is so much fun!

Iris

I hope to share more cards as the month progresses – especially my MFT Superstar entries once I have them all done.  Last year, I posted them as I finished, but I think I need to take my time to execute them well.  Wish me luck!

See you all next time!

caly-sig

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Distress Ink background – Tumbled Glass

Copics – V000, V15, V09, Y06, R27, G14, G09

Altenew Enchanted Iris
Altenew Enchanted Iris EH | SSS | Altenew
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink
Memento Tuxedo Black Ink EH | SSS | AMZN
Tim Holtz Mini Distress Inks
Tim Holtz Mini Distress Inks EH | SSS
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb EH | SSS

Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb

Sakura White Gelly Roll
Sakura White Gelly Roll
Tombow Liquid Multi Mono Glue
Tombow Liquid Multi Mono Glue EH | SSS | AMZN
ATG Gun
ATG Gun EH | SSS | AMZN

4.25 inch Round Acrylic Block
4.25 inch Round Acrylic Block
Uchida Marvy Jewel Picker
Uchida Marvy Jewel Picker EH | SSS | AMZN
Ranger Mini Round Blending Tools

Ranger Mini Round Blending Tools

EH | SSS | AMZN

Ranger Mini Round Foam Blending Refills
Ranger Mini Round Foam Blending Refills EH | SSS | AMZN
MSP Mini MISTI
MSP Mini MISTI EH | SSS | MSP
Teflon Bone Folder
Teflon Bone Folder EH | SSS
PPP Sparking Clear Confetti Mix
PPP Sparking Clear Confetti Mix EH | SSS | PPP
2 thoughts on “Enchanted Iris

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

