Always Stand By You

DAY 1 of 3:  Clean and Simple

Print

I got the email about MFT’s 2017 Card Design Superstar contest and I’ll be honest – it gave me anxiety.  I was really naive last year.  Super excited and humbled when I didn’t win – but I was not surprised! There were unbelievable entries!  I learned so much though! There are AMAZING crafters and cardmakers everywhere.  As I pick up lettering and begin embarking with traditional calligraphy, I’m blown away by the many different communities of artists.  Sometimes, I wonder if I’m spreading myself too thin.  In my heart, I’m driven to do it all, but physically, I am only one person with 4 kids and a full-time job and that’s not feasible at all.  So I’ve worked really hard…slowly but surely over the past two weeks, coloring and cutting, thinking long and hard about the images I want to use for this contest.  There are 3 themes this year and I’m so glad that they’ve broken it down this way to showcase everyone’s talents and to spread inspiration.  The first card I’m sharing today is in the clean and simple category.

Always Stand by You 1

I think I often struggle with white space – so I’m looking at this card and really wondering if it’s clean enough.  I decided to add some layers and a window to give it interest – with fussy-cut foliage and berries.

Always Stand by You

These giraffes are just too cute!  I colored them with Copics and inked the background with some distress ink.  I love this peek-a-boo window die – the stitching is so delicate and frames images so well.  The bold banner holding the sentiment finishes off my first card for this contest.

Wish me luck!  I’ll be sharing my next two cards before Thursday night when the contest comes to a close.  Please check back tomorrow for the Coloring Virtuoso theme!

XOXO,

caly-sig

SUPPLIES:

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Distress Ink Colors:. Spun Sugar and Wilted Violet

Copics:.

Giraffe: Yoo, Y13, E31, E35

Follage:. YG06, YG09

Berries: R27, R29

MFT Giraffing Me Crazy
MFT Giraffing Me Crazy

EH | SSS | MFT

MFT Giraffing Me Crazy
MFT Giraffing Me Crazy

EH | SSS | MFT


White/Gray Big Shot
White/Gray Big Shot
MFT Rectangle Peek-a-Boo Window
MFT Rectangle Peek-a-Boo Window

EH | SSS | MFT


Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb
Neenah Solar White 80 lb

EH | SSS

Copic Sketch Markers
Copic Sketch Markers
EH | SSS | MERRIARTIST

Basic Black Cardstock
Basic Black Cardstock
EK Success Powder Tool
EK Success Powder Tool

EH | SSS | AMZN

Versafine Onyx Black
Versafine Onyx Black

EH | SSS

HA White Embossing Powder

HA White Embossing Powder

SSS | EH


White Foam Sheet 12x18 10pk
White Foam Sheet 12×18 10pk
ATG Gun
ATG Gun

EH | SSS | AMZN

Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue

EH | SSS


Sakura Gelly Roll
Sakura Gelly Roll

 

4 thoughts on “Always Stand By You

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

