Congratulations – Watercolor Wedding Card

========================LIFE UPDATE ============================

Is everyone jumping out of their seats to hear why I’ll be MIA for a while? HAHA…It won’t affect you, I promise (unless you’re dying for my regular 2-3 posts a week – in which case, I’m very flattered!). We learned two weeks ago today that there was a residency position open in Kansas City where we are from. If you don’t already know, that’s sort of the reason why we ended up here in Ohio 13 months ago. My husband had high hopes of matching into an anesthesiology program and it didn’t work out. So he accepted a 1 year internship here…then signed on as an Internal Medicine resident to complete his training here. We had every intention of staying for the next 3 years….until that call came 2 weeks ago. We did landscaping (planted 5 great big trees in the back yard), was planning on fencing and a pergola, and had just finished adding cabinets and granite to our kitchen when the news came the SAME day.

I kid you not…here’s a photo to prove it (please excuse the ‘before’ mess):

PhotoGrid_1436842040456

After being let down so many times, we decided we wouldn’t get our hopes up…but that we would pursue it and see where it would lead us. As it turns out…they REALLY want him. He flew to KC on Tuesday and had the formal interview yesterday and signed the paperwork. It’s been a whirlwind. In two weeks, we have cleaned and packed up about 1/3 of our belongings in order to list our home for sale. It’s been on the market since Friday. We’re hoping for a quick sale, but regardless, we are leaving in a few weeks as soon as we can find a home in KC. My older boys need to be able to start school on time (it’s a goal, at least). I will need to take a few weeks off work for the move and because of this, I won’t be able to craft.

I’ve been crafting completely and utterly alone for the past year. My husband says that he could’ve saved us all this trouble to start with if he had just aimed for Family Medicine or Internal Medicine instead of Anesthesiology…but I know in my heart that the past year has done some great things for me. I’ve been able to learn the art of card-making and I’ve been able to clear my head and my heart of past hurts. I feel like I’ll be returning to KC a new person…with very definitive boundaries. I’ve made promises to myself that I won’t let people affect me the way they have in the past. I know it’s easier said than done…but I need to find a way to be mentally healthy like I have been this past year.

I hope you’ll keep us in your thoughts and prayers through this crazy time. It’s something we want, but it’s also very scary. I know you’ll understand that I won’t post any crafts for at least 2 weeks 🙂

==============AND NOW FOR MY CARD =============

I needed to make a quick card for someone this week, so I used a stamp set called Congratulations by Simon Says Stamp – it’s older, but it’s new to me – and I love the font to this large sentiment.

Congratulations  - Wedding 3

I used Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers to achieve the watercolor look that you see here.

Congratulations  - Wedding 2

I heat embossed and used a few sequins to finish this card.

Congratulations  - Wedding 1

I just love the gold over this velum!

Congratulations  - Wedding

I hope you’ll enjoy this video tutorial!

*Disclaimer: I am not being paid by any company to promote their products. I make cards using stamp sets and materials which I love and I love to share. To view where these items can be purchased, click on the linked abbreviations below (SU for Stampin’ Up!, SSS for Simon Says Stamp, EH for Ellen Hutson, AMZN for Amazon, LF for Lawn Fawn, MFT for My Favorite Things, etc.).

Zig Colors used: 025 Pink, 084 Deep Violet

Stazon Jet Black Ink
Stazon Jet Black Ink

EH | SSS | AMZN

Versafine Onyx Black
Versafine Onyx Black

EH | SSS

Canson XL WaterColor Paper Pad
Canson XL WaterColor Paper Pad

EH | SSS | JOANN


Recollections 110 lb
Recollections 110 lb
Zig Clean Color Real Brush
Zig Clean Color Real Brush

EH | SSS | AMZN

Versamark Ink
Versamark Ink

EH | SSS | AMZN


Heat Tool
Heat Tool

Clear Embossing Powder
Clear Embossing Powder
WOW Metallic Gold Rich Regular Embossing Powder
WOW Metallic Gold Rich Regular Embossing Powder

SSS | JOANN


Sequins Moonshine 3mm
Sequins Moonshine 3mm

Sequins Moonshine 6 mm
Sequins Moonshine 6mm

Fast Fuse
Fast Fuse

Tombow Permanent Tape Runner
Tombow Permanent Tape Runner
EK Success Craft Tweezers
EK Success Craft Tweezers

EH | SSS | AMZN

Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue
Mini Multi Medium Matte Glue

EH | SSS


10 thoughts on “Congratulations – Watercolor Wedding Card

  1. it sounds like a whirlwind there. lol. you sound great and i’m praying for you. I have so enjoyed your videos and blog. and I look forward to hearing more news. I love the new kitchen. i’m sure the house will sell very quickly. its so good to have the time to heal and get away for awhile. you sound so on track, i’m sure you will do well. I wish the very best for you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so wonderfully sweet, crafttreen. (Treen?) Luckily we only did this 13 months ago so this isn’t new to us…lol. I appreciate your thoughts and best wishes – and thanks for letting me know you enjoy my videos and blog!

      Like

      1. caly, yes I am craftytreen, treen, katrine galey and katrine leber. I did not understand what a username was when I first started, so I ended up with a bunch of names. I was computer challenged when I started crafting. i’m learning little by little. its getting much better. I cant wait to see what happens next with you and your family. I just found you on instagram. lol that will help. thanks, treen

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks! I saw that! You can edit your name on instagram too – I did that recently to make it more for crafts than personal stuff! 🙂

        Like

  2. Congrats on the big move !!! So exciting and stressful at the same time. Loved this card and will be using your suggestion of stamping in black and embossing in clear – what a great idea to do away with all those pesky little black flakes. Sending hugs and blessings your way during this move.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, Caly, what a whirlwind indeed! And congratulations to you both! It’s a long road you’ve both been on, and I wish you the very best in this big move. It sounds like God is guiding you, and I trust that you will be encouraged as you pack and do all you have to do for this big move. Well, at least the house will look great to sell!! Thanks for your beautiful cards and videos, and once you get settled (and you will again…hehe!), we look forward to seeing you blog again. In the meantime, I’ll be praying for you all! Hugs! (P. S. And I love the beautiful wedding card you’ve made!)

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for taking the time to leave me a comment!